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INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE1 
 

The numbers regarding intimate partner 
violence and guns are bone chilling. The National 
Coalition Against Domestic Violence estimates that 
13.6% of American women have been threatened by 
intimate partners with a firearm; 43% of those women 
have been physically injured. https://assets. 
speakcdn.com/assets/2497/guns_and_dv_2022.pdf. 
Women in the United States are 11 times more likely 
to be murdered with a gun than in other high-income 
nations. Id. In a survey of contacts by the National 
Domestic Violence Hotline, 67% of respondents 
believed their abusers––who had access to firearms–
–could kill them. Id. And those people might be right–
–an abuser’s access to a firearm increases the risk of 
murder by 1000%. Id.   

 
According to The American Journal of Public 

Health, an abusive partner who has access to a gun is 
five times more likely to kill his female victim. Risk 
Factors for Femicide in Abusive Relationships: 
Results From a Multisite Case Control Study | AJPH 
| Vol. 93 Issue 7 (aphapublications.org). And 
homicide is the number one cause of death of 
pregnant and post-partum women, making it higher 
than any pregnancy-related complication. Homicide 

 
1  All parties received notice of the filing of this brief via e-
mail on April 8, 2023.  

No counsel for a party has authored this brief in whole 
or in part, and no counsel or party has made a monetary 
contribution to fund the preparation or submission of this brief. 
No one other than the amici curiae and its counsel made any 
monetary contribution to its preparation and submission.  

https://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/full/10.2105/AJPH.93.7.1089
https://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/full/10.2105/AJPH.93.7.1089
https://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/full/10.2105/AJPH.93.7.1089
https://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/full/10.2105/AJPH.93.7.1089
https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/hsph-in-the-news/homicide-leading-cause-of-death-for-pregnant-women-in-u-s/#:%7E:text=October%2021%2C%202022%20%E2%80%93%20Women%20in,Chan%20School%20of%20Public%20Health
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leading cause of death for pregnant women in U.S. | 
News | Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.   

 
But it is not just the abuser’s partner who is 

victimized or murdered. According to the Texas 
Council on Family Violence, 100% of law enforcement 
and bystanders killed in 2021 domestic violence 
homicide incidents in Texas were killed by an abuser 
with a gun. https://tcfv.org/wp-content/uploads 
/tcfv_htv_summary_facts_2021.pdf..  

 
In stark contrast to these numbers stand the 

numbers where protective orders prohibit gun 
possession. States that prohibit a domestic partner or 
a dating partner subject to a protective order from 
possessing guns have a 13% lower rate of intimate 
partner homicide than those without. 
https://assets.speakcdn.com/assets/2497/guns_and_d
v_2022.pdf.. States with both temporary and final 
protective orders also have a 13% lower rate of 
intimate partner homicide. Id. And where the abusers 
are required to relinquish their firearms, there is a 
12% decrease in intimate partner homicide. Id. So, 
Judge Ho’s statement that “merely enacting laws that 
tell them to disarm is a woefully inadequate 
solution,”2 is simply wrong. Imperfect, yes; “woefully 
inadequate,” no.  
 

Nearly every state in the country has a law or 
laws prohibiting the possession of firearms by anyone 
subject to a protective order, whether temporary or 

 
2  United States v. Rahimi, 61 F.4th 443, 467 (5th Cir. 
2023) (Concurring op.).  
 

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/hsph-in-the-news/homicide-leading-cause-of-death-for-pregnant-women-in-u-s/#:%7E:text=October%2021%2C%202022%20%E2%80%93%20Women%20in,Chan%20School%20of%20Public%20Health
https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/hsph-in-the-news/homicide-leading-cause-of-death-for-pregnant-women-in-u-s/#:%7E:text=October%2021%2C%202022%20%E2%80%93%20Women%20in,Chan%20School%20of%20Public%20Health
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final. See Appendix. But with the Fifth Circuit’s 
opinion Rahimi, a cloud of uncertainty hangs over 
every one of those laws.  

 
“[A] legal system crafted to protect life and 

liberty should readily encompass the value of 
protecting people from being terrorized by gun-
possessors with a propensity to physically harm 
others.” Gun laws after Bruen: Clarence Thomas can’t 
read the Framers’ minds. (slate.com) (Feb. 15, 2023). 
Judge Ho’s solution to detain, prosecute, and 
incarcerate3 is no solution. It certainly does not take 
into consideration––in any way––the difficult and 
complex nature of intimate partner violence cases.4 
Amici Curiae have a responsibility to use every tool 
available to ensure the safety of the victims while any 
criminal case winds its way through the system. This 
is what protective orders prohibiting gun possession 
are for; this is their value. See 5th Circuit ruling is 
detrimental for domestic violence survivors 
(dallasnews.com) (Feb. 15, 2023) (“Securing a 
protective order through our legal system remains a 
vital tool in a survivor’s box. As always, [SafeHaven] 
will continue to work with survivors to ensure they 
are fully able to experience freedom from domestic 
violence with access to all the interventions available 
to them.”); “Terrifying” court ruling lets alleged 

 
3  Rahimi, 61 F.4th at 467. 
4  “Domestic violence advocates have long argued that 
victims are the most susceptible to violence, via firearm or 
otherwise, when trying to leave an abuser, separate, or get a 
divorce. This can take anywhere from days to years, often with 
a restraining order as the only barrier until the relationship is 
finally over.” 5th Circuit ruling on guns, restraining orders goes 
too far | Fort Worth Star-Telegram (Feb. 9, 2023).  

https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2023/02/gun-laws-bruen-clarence-thomas-framers-domestic-abuse.html
https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2023/02/gun-laws-bruen-clarence-thomas-framers-domestic-abuse.html
https://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/commentary/2023/02/14/5th-circuit-ruling-is-detrimental-for-domestic-violence-survivors/
https://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/commentary/2023/02/14/5th-circuit-ruling-is-detrimental-for-domestic-violence-survivors/
https://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/commentary/2023/02/14/5th-circuit-ruling-is-detrimental-for-domestic-violence-survivors/
https://www.texastribune.org/2023/02/09/guns-domestic-abuse-second-amendment/
https://www.star-telegram.com/opinion/editorials/article272320833.html
https://www.star-telegram.com/opinion/editorials/article272320833.html
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domestic abusers keep their guns | The Texas 
Tribune (Feb. 14, 2023) (“They are one of the only 
mechanisms that survivors have that’s a direct 
intervention to stop the abuse. . . For most people, 
protective orders are working, and they work better 
when the full provisions are in force and a firearm is 
taken out of the equation.”).  

 
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY 

OF THE ARGUMENT  
 

In Rahimi, the Fifth Circuit held that 18 U.S.C. 
§ 922(g)(8), the federal statute prohibiting the 
possession of firearms by someone subject to a 
protective order, was unconstitutional. 61 F.4th 443. 
As the Government alluded to in its petition for 
certiorari review, the Fifth Circuit’s opinion calls into 
question the validity of Texas laws prohibiting the 
possession of firearms by someone subject to a 
protective order.  
 

Prior to this decision, no one would have 
questioned that the enactment of these laws was a 
proper use of a state’s police power. Indeed, the police 
power of the 50 states is well-established, having been 
the basis of Supreme Court opinions for well over a 
century. The only caveat for its use is that it cannot 
intrude on the rights enshrined in the Constitution. 
Under the Fifth Circuit’s opinion, however, these laws 
do exactly that––they intrude on the Second 
Amendment’s right of the people to keep and bear 
arms. Rahimi thus obliterates the State’s police 
power to enact laws disarming those who have 
committed acts of domestic violence, laws that have 

https://www.texastribune.org/2023/02/09/guns-domestic-abuse-second-amendment/
https://www.texastribune.org/2023/02/09/guns-domestic-abuse-second-amendment/
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been enacted precisely for the health and safety of its 
citizens. The Fifth Circuit was wrong.  

 
This Court has made it clear that the right to 

keep and bear arms is the right of “ordinary, law-
abiding citizens” to keep and bear arms for self-defense. 
Allowing anyone subject to a protective order to retain 
possession of their firearms is the antithesis of this.  

 
ARGUMENT  

 
I. Since the Birth of the Union, It Is the 

Individual States that Have Held the 
Power to Legislate for the Good and 
Welfare of Their Citizens. Unless the 
Constitution Is Offended, Laws Enacted 
for Such Purposes Will Be Upheld.   

 
“In our federal system, the National Government 

possesses only limited powers; the States and the people 
retain the remainder.” National Federation of 
Independent Business v. Sebelius, 567 U.S. 519, 533 
(2012). This “remainder” is the States’ police power, “the 
broad authority to enact legislation for the public 
good[.]” Bond v. United States, 572 U.S. 844, 854 (2014) 
(citing United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549, 567 (1995)); 
see also Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11, 24–25 
(1905). Put another way, every state may enact laws to 
protect the peace, health, happiness, and general 
welfare of its citizens:  

 
The states’ police power “is, and must be 
from its very nature, incapable of any 
very exact definition or limitation. Upon 
it depends the security of order, the life 
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and health of the citizen, the comfort of 
an existence in a thickly populated 
community, the enjoyment of private 
and social life, and the beneficial use of 
property. ‘It extends, . . . to the 
protection of the lives, limbs, comfort, 
and quiet of all persons, and the 
protection of all property within the 
State; . . . and persons and property are 
subject to all kinds of restraints and 
burdens in order to secure the general 
comfort, health, and prosperity of the 
State. Of the perfect right of the 
legislature to do this no question ever 
was, or, upon acknowledged general 
principles, can ever be made, so far as 
natural persons are concerned.’” 

 
Slaughterhouse Cases, 83 U.S. 36, 62 (1872) (citations 
omitted).  

 
The state is free to enact laws pursuant to its 

police power, provided that those laws do not intrude 
on those rights protected by the Bill of Rights. E.g., 
Lovell v. City of Griffin, Ga., 303 U.S. 444, 451 (1938); 
see also U.S. Const. Amend. X. In holding that § 
922(g)(8) violates the Second Amendment, the Fifth 
Circuit called into doubt state law properly enacted 
pursuant to the state’s police power.  

 
Domestic violence, sexual assault, and other 

like crimes have a significant impact on the whole of 
society. Protective orders are only one remedy 
available, but they are an important one. As the 
Colorado Legislature expressly found “the issuance 
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and enforcement of protection orders are of 
paramount importance. . . because protection orders 
promote safety, reduce violence and other types of 
abuse, and prevent serious harm and death.” The 
Legislature further declared that protective orders 
were important for the health and safety not only for 
victims of domestic violence, but also for victims of 
sexual assault and stalking. Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-14-
100.2 (West 2023). The New Jersey Legislature said  

 
it is the responsibility of the courts to 
protect victims of violence that occurs in 
a family or family-like setting by 
providing access to both emergent and 
long-term civil and criminal remedies 
and sanctions, and by ordering those 
remedies and sanctions that are 
available to assure the safety of the 
victims and the public. 

 
N.J. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 2C:25-18 (West 2023). In 2004, 
the Nebraska Legislature found that the crimes of both 
sexual assault and domestic violence were matters “of 
statewide concern, and the prevention of violence is for 
the protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public.” Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-4301 (West 2023). And 
nearly three decades ago, the California Legislature 
recognized the destruction caused by domestic violence: 
“The Legislature hereby finds that spousal abusers 
present a clear and present danger to the mental and 
physical well-being of the citizens of the State of 
California.” Cal. Penal Code § 273.8 (West 2023).  
 

This Court acknowledged that the Second 
Amendment right is “not unlimited.” District of 
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Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570, 626 (2008) (citation 
omitted). With that in mind, the legislatures of nearly 
every state have determined that one way to protect the 
victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and other 
like crimes is the protective order that disarms the 
perpetrator. And three states––Georgia, Kentucky, and 
Missouri––have filed bills during the current legislative 
sessions to add such laws. See Appendix. This is exactly 
what the States’ police power is for. But the patchwork 
quilt of state law is in danger of being unraveled should 
the Fifth Circuit’s opinion be allowed to stand. The 
result being that “survivors of domestic violence [will 
be] less safe––and less likely to pursue protective orders 
that may already seem risky for those in danger.” 
“Terrifying” court ruling lets alleged domestic abusers 
keep their guns | The Texas Tribune; see also 5th 
Circuit gun ruling increases danger to women, families 
| Fort Worth Star-Telegram (Feb. 3, 2023) (“Agencies 
that protect families from domestic violence now have 
one less tool to prevent family shootings, partner-
killings, and murder-suicide.”).  
 
II. The Heart of the Second Amendment Is 

the Right to Keep and Bear Arms for Self-
defense. Disarming Those Subject to a 
Protective Order, Those Who Are Not 
“Ordinary, Law-abiding Citizens,” Does 
Not Diminish this Right.  

 
 Heller and Bruen5 make two points clear. First, 
the right to keep and bear arms belongs to “ordinary, 

 
5 New York State Rifle & Pistol Ass’n, Inc. v. Bruen, 142 S. Ct. 
2111 (2022). 

https://www.texastribune.org/2023/02/09/guns-domestic-abuse-second-amendment/
https://www.texastribune.org/2023/02/09/guns-domestic-abuse-second-amendment/
https://www.star-telegram.com/opinion/bud-kennedy/article272066192.html
https://www.star-telegram.com/opinion/bud-kennedy/article272066192.html
https://www.star-telegram.com/opinion/bud-kennedy/article272066192.html
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law-abiding citizens.” Second, it belongs to them for 
self-defense. 
 

A. Those who choose to victimize 
others are not among “the people” 
who have the right to keep and bear 
arms.  

 
In deciding Bruen, this Court explained that 

the first question to ask when considering whether a 
gun regulation is unconstitutional is whether the 
Second Amendment’s plain text covers an individual’s 
conduct. 142 S. Ct. at 2126. The gravamen of this 
question is who are “the people”? For purposes of the 
Second Amendment, “the people” are “ordinary, law-
abiding citizens.” Id. at 2126; see also Heller, 554 U.S. 
at 635.  

 
The Fifth Circuit held that because Rahimi, 

“hardly a model citizen,” was not a convicted felon, he 
was “among ‘the people’ entitled to Second 
Amendment guarantees, all other things equal.” 61 
F.4th at 453; see id. at 452–53. But Rahimi was not, 
by any measure, an “ordinary, law-abiding citizen.” 
Id. at 448 (“Between December 2020 and January 
2021, Rahimi was involved in five shootings in and 
around Arlington, Texas.”). Thus, his conduct is not 
covered by the plain text of the Second Amendment.  

 
If the Fifth Circuit’s opinion is allowed to 

stand, the States’ police power in the area of intimate 
partner violence will be of little use. Yes, there are 
plenty of criminal laws on the books. Abusers can be 
arrested, charged, and (possibly) convicted. Rapists 
and stalkers can also be arrested, charged, and 
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(possibly) convicted. But the ability to issue a 
protective order, the ability to disarm these criminals, 
gives the victims some measure of peace. More 
importantly, it increases the chances of survival.   

 
B. Guns in the hands of abusers are not 

used for self-defense.  
 
An 1829 decision of the Supreme Court 
of Michigan said: “The constitution of 
the United States also grants to the 
citizen the right to keep and bear arms. 
But the grant of this privilege cannot be 
construed into the right in him who keeps 
a gun to destroy his neighbor. No rights 
are intended to be granted by the 
constitution for an unlawful or 
unjustifiable purpose.”  

 
Heller, 554 U.S. at 612 (citation omitted and emphasis 
added); see also id. at 616 (“It was plainly the 
understanding in the post-Civil War Congress that 
the Second Amendment protected an individual right 
to use arms for self-defense.”) (emphasis added); 628 
(“inherent right of self-defense has been central to the 
Second Amendment right”) (emphasis added); 629 
(“Whatever the reasons, handguns are the most 
popular weapon chosen by Americans for self-defense 
in the home[.]”) (emphasis added); 630 (“core lawful 
purpose of self-defense”) (emphasis added). 
Ultimately, this Court has recognized that the right 
is “not unlimited. . .  the right was not a right to keep 
and carry any weapon whatsoever in any manner 
whatsoever and for whatever purpose.” Id. at 626 
(citations omitted). Telling the 50 States they cannot 
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disarm abusers, sexual predators, and the like via an 
order that serves to protect both the victims and 
society at large grants this privilege to those who are 
not “ordinary, law-abiding citizens.”  
 
 For those who are subject to a protective order, 
the overwhelming evidence establishes that their 
firearms are not for self-defense. They are not being 
kept for a lawful purpose. They are weapons of 
intimidation, fear, and control. More importantly, 
these people are not law-abiding citizens. This is 
exactly who this Court has said the Second 
Amendment does not protect. Id. at 625 (The “Second 
Amendment does not protect those weapons not 
typically possessed by law-abiding citizens for lawful 
purposes[.]”).  
 

CONCLUSION  
 
 The Second Amendment no doubt protects the 
right of “ordinary law-abiding citizens” to keep and 
bear arms for self-defense. But “[f]irearms and 
domestic strife are a potentially deadly combination 
nationwide.” Hayes, 555 U.S. at 427 (citations 
omitted). Abusers are not “ordinary, law-abiding 
citizens,” and they keep and bear arms for torture and 
control. Thus, the prohibition at issue here does not 
“impair the core conduct upon which the right was 
premised.” Parker v. District of Columbia, 478 F.3d 
370, 399 (D.C. Cir. 2007). The States’ enactment of 
laws that use protective orders to disarm the abusers 
is, therefore, a valid use of their police power.    
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APPENDIX B 
 

ALABAMA  
 
 While Alabama state law does not specifically 
dispossess the person of their guns, Ala. Code § 30-5-
7(b)(9) (West 2023), it is a crime for any person subject 
to a protective order to own a gun. Id. at § 13A-11-72(a).  
 

ALASKA  
 
 In Alaska, protective orders may “prohibit 
respondent from using or possessing a deadly weapon 
if the court finds the respondent was in the actual 
possession of or used a weapon during the commission 
of domestic violence”; as well, they may “direct the 
respondent to surrender any firearm owned or 
possessed by the respondent if the court finds that the 
respondent was in the actual possession of or used a 
firearm during the commission of domestic violence.” 
Alaska Stat. § 18.66.100(c)(6)–(7) (West 2023). 
However, these provisions do not apply to emergency 
or ex parte orders. Id. at § 18.66.110(b).  
 

ARIZONA  
 
 Arizona law requires that where the court finds 
the defendant to be a “a credible threat to the physical 
safety of the plaintiff or other designated persons,” 
the order can prohibit the defendant from possessing 
a gun, and the gun must be transferred to law 
enforcement immediately or within 24 hours of 
service of the order. Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3602(G)(4) 
(West 2023). An emergency order may also prohibit 
gun possession “[i]f the court finds that the defendant 
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may inflict bodily injury or death on the plaintiff.” Id. 
at § 13-3624(D)(4)  
 

ARKANSAS  
 
 Arkansas does not specifically dispossess the 
person of their guns, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 9-15-
205(a)(8)(A), 9-15-206(b)(F)(i) (West 2023); nor does it 
criminalize gun possession for those subject to 
protective orders. But it does provide that the person 
can be denied a gun license if the protective order 
meets the federal requirements. Id. at § 5-73-309(6). 
 

CALIFORNIA  
 

California state law prohibits anyone subject to 
a protective order from owning, possessing, 
purchasing, or receiving a firearm or ammunition for 
the duration of the order. Cal. Fam. Code § 6389(a). 
To do so is a crime. Cal. Penal Code § 29825.  

 
COLORADO  

 
 In Colorado, for orders related to domestic 
violence, if “the court determines on the record after 
reviewing the petition . . . that the protection order 
includes an act of domestic violence, . . ., and the act 
of domestic violence involved the threat of use, use of, 
or attempted use of physical force,” the court must 
prohibit the possession and purchase of any firearm 
for the duration of the order, and require that a 
respondent relinquish any firearm or ammunition in 
his possession for the duration of the order. Id. at § 
13-14-105.5(1)(a)–(b).  
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CONNECTICUT  
 

Connecticut does not expressly prohibit gun 
possession, but the court “may make such orders as it 
deems appropriate for the protection of the applicant 
and such dependent children or other persons as the 
court sees fit.” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-15(b) (West 2023). 
It further provides that anyone subject to a protective 
order is ineligible for a license to carry a firearm. Id. at 
§§ 29-36f(b)(6), 29-36i(a). Finally, once the person is 
given notice of the protective order, Connecticut 
criminalizes gun possession. Id. at § 53a-217(a)(4).  
 

DELAWARE  
 

 Delaware prohibits those subject to a 
“protection from abuse order” or a “lethal violence 
protection order” from “purchasing, owning, 
possessing, controlling a deadly weapon or 
ammunition for a firearm within the State.” Del. Code 
Ann. tit. 11, § 1448(a)(6), (11) (West 2023). In a final 
protective order, the court may order the temporary 
relinquishment of firearms and prohibit the purchase 
or receipt of additional firearms for the duration of the 
order. Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 1045(a)(8).  
 

FLORIDA  
 

 In Florida, the defendant “may not have in his 
or her care, custody, possession, or control any 
firearm or ammunition if the person has been issued 
a final injunction that is currently in force and effect, 
restraining that person from committing acts of 
domestic violence,” stalking, or cyberstalking. Fla. 
Stat. Ann. § 790.233(1) (West 2023). The injunction 
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must provide notice of this on its face. Id. at § 
741.30(6)(g). 
 

GEORGIA  
 

 State law in Georgia does not currently 
prohibit gun possession for a person subject to a 
protective order. Ga. Code Ann. § 19-3-14 (West 2023). 
However, a bill has been introduced that would 
amend the law to prohibit gun possession after notice 
and an opportunity to be heard. See Ga. SB 119, 157th 
Gen. Assembly, R.S. (2023). 
 

HAWAII  
 

 Hawaiian state law mandates that any 
protection order “shall specifically include a 
statement that possession, control, or transfer of a 
firearm or ammunition by the person named in the 
order is prohibited.” Haw. Rev. Stat. § 134-7(f).  
 

IDAHO  
 

 Idaho state law provides that the court may 
order “other relief as the court deems necessary for 
the protection of a family or household member, 
including orders or directives to a peace officer[.]” 
Idaho Code Ann. § 39-6308(1)(d) (West 2023). 
However, if a person is subject to a protective order 
that restrains them from “harassing, stalking[,] or 
threatening an intimate partner of the person or child 
of the intimate partner or person[] or engaging in 
other conduct that would place an intimate partner in 
reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or 
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child,” they cannot be issued a concealed-carry 
license. Id. at § 18-3302(11)(m).  
 

ILLINOIS  
 

 Illinois specifically prohibits gun possession for 
the respondent in a protective order and requires the 
surrender of any guns the respondent does own. Ill. 
Comp. Stat. act 5, § 5/112A(b)(14.5). (West 2023). 
 

INDIANA  
 

 Under a final protective order, Indiana law 
prohibits the respondent “from using or possessing a 
firearm, ammunition, or a deadly weapon specified by 
the court” and requires surrender of these things to a 
specified law enforcement agency. Ind. Code Ann. § 
34-26-5-9(d)(4) (West 2023).  
 

IOWA  
 

 For a permanent protective order only, Iowa 
law provides that “the defendant not knowingly 
possess, ship, transport, or receive firearms, offensive 
weapons, and ammunition[.]” Iowa Code Ann. § 
236.5(1)(b)(2) (West 2023). Temporary protective 
orders must provide notice that the defendant may be 
required to give up his weapons if a permanent order 
is issued. Id. at § 236.4(2).  
 

KANSAS  
 

 A protective order under Kansas law is not 
required to contain a provision prohibiting gun 
possession. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-3107(a)(10) (West 
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2023). However, it is illegal to possess a firearm if the 
order (1) was issued after a hearing for which the 
defendant had notice and an opportunity to be heard, 
(2) “restrains [the defendant] from harassing, 
stalking[,] or threatening an intimate person . . . or a 
child . . ., or engaging in other conduct that would 
place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily 
injury to the partner or the child,” and (3) “includes a 
finding that [the defendant] represents a credible 
threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner 
or child” or “by its terms expressly prohibits the use, 
attempted use[,] or threatened use of physical force . . 
. that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily 
injury[.]” Id. at § 21-6301(a)(17).  
 

KENTUCKY  
 

 Kentucky currently does not prohibit gun 
possession for anyone subject to a protection order. 
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 403.740 (West 2023). However, 
an amendment has been proposed, adding subsection 
(1)(a)(6) which would prohibit the use or possession of 
a firearm. See Ky. SB 265, R.S. (2023).  
 

LOUISIANA  
 

 Louisiana allows a judge to grant a temporary 
order of protection, but that order does not include a 
restriction on the abuser’s access to have or buy a gun. 
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 46:2135 (West 2023). However, 
a permanent protective order can include such a 
restriction if (1) the order includes a finding that the 
person “represents a credible threat to the physical 
safety of a family member, household member, or 
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dating partner”; and (2) the order provides notice to 
the person. Id. at § 46:2136.3(A).  
 

MAINE  
 

 Pursuant to Maine state law, a temporary 
order of protection may direct that the defendant not 
possess firearms and other weapons if the complaint 
demonstrates (1) that the abuse involved a weapon, 
and (2) there is a heightened risk of immediate abuse 
to the plaintiff or a minor child. Any such weapons in 
the defendant’s possession must be relinquished 
immediately. Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 19-A, § 4108(3) (West 
2023). If an order is issued after notice and a hearing, 
and that order includes a finding that the defendant 
is a credible threat to the plaintiff’s physical safety 
and expressly forbids the use of physical force that 
would be reasonably expected to cause bodily injury, 
the defendant’s possession of a firearm becomes a 
crime. Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 15, § 393(1)(D) (West 2023). 
 

MARYLAND 
 

 Under a temporary protection order, Maryland 
requires that the defendant not be allowed to possess 
any firearms if the abuse consisted of the use of a 
firearm, a threat to use a firearm, serious bodily 
harm, or a threat to cause to cause serious bodily 
harm. Md. Code Ann., Fam. Law § 4-505(2)(viii) (West 
2023). If a final protection order is issued, the 
defendant must surrender any firearms in his 
possession and refrain from future possession. Id. at 
§ 4-506(f) (West 2023).  
 

 



 

10a 

MASSACHUSETTS  
 

 Massachusetts requires that where the 
plaintiff “demonstrates a substantial likelihood of 
immediate danger or abuse,” the respondent’s license 
to carry will be immediately suspended and firearms 
will be surrendered to law enforcement. Mass. Gen. 
Laws Ann. ch. 209A, § 3B (West 2023). The defendant 
will also be prohibited from obtaining a license to 
carry firearms for the duration of the protective order. 
Id. at Ch. 140, § 131(d)(vi).  
 

MICHIGAN  
 

 Michigan law provides that a “personal 
protection order” can “restrain or enjoin” the 
defendant from “purchasing or possessing a firearm.” 
Mich. Comp. Law § 600.2950(1)(e) (West 2023). 
Further, the respondent is ineligible for a concealed-
carry license. Id. at § 28.425b(7)(d)(iii). 
 

MINNESOTA  
 

 Minnesota’s Domestic Abuse Act provides that 
gun possession is prohibited for the length of the order 
if it “(1) restrains the [respondent] from harassing, 
stalking, or threating the petitioner, or restrains the 
[respondent] from engaging in other conduct that 
would place the petitioner in reasonable fear of bodily 
injury, and (2) [finds] that the [respondent] 
represents a credible threat to the physical safety of 
the petitioner or prohibits the abusing party from 
using, attempting to use, or threating to use physical 
force against the petitioner.” Minn. Stat. Ann. § 
518B.01(6)(g) (West 2023). Any firearms must be 
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transferred “to a federally licensed firearms dealer, a 
law enforcement agency, or a third party who may 
lawfully receive them and [who does not reside with 
the abusing party].” Id. Finally, if the court 
determines by a preponderance of the evidence that 
“the abusing party poses an imminent risk of causing 
another person substantial bodily harm,” “the court 
shall order that the local law enforcement agency take 
immediate possession of all firearms in the abusing 
party’s possession.” Id. at (6)(i).  
 

MISSISSIPPI  
 

 Mississippi state law does not specifically 
provide that a court may prohibit a defendant from 
possessing a firearm, but the relief allowed is not 
limited to just that set out in the statute. Miss. Code 
Ann. § 93-21-15(1)(a) (temporary order), (2)(a) (final 
order) (West 2023). 
 

MISSOURI  
 

 While Missouri law does not currently prohibit 
gun possession for the subject of a protection order, 
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 455.045 (West 2023), several bills 
filed in the current legislative session propose adding 
that language to the statute. See HB 1380, 102nd 
Gen. Assembly, 1st R.S. (2023); HB 1135, 102nd Gen. 
Assembly, 1st R.S. (2023); SB 59, 102nd Gen. 
Assembly, 1st R.S. (2023); SB 305 102nd Gen. 
Assembly, 1st R.S. (2023); SB 431, 102nd Gen. 
Assembly, 1st R.S. (2023).  
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MONTANA  
 

 Montana state law provides that the trial court 
may prohibit the respondent “from possessing or 
using the firearm used in the assault” in both 
temporary and permanent protective orders. Mont. 
Code Ann. §§ 40-15-201(2)(f), 40-15-204(3) (West 
2023) (emphasis added). The order can also provide 
“other relief considered necessary to provide for the 
safety and welfare of the petitioner or other 
designated family member.” Id. at § 40-15-201(2)(j).  
 

NEBRASKA  
 

 Under Nebraska state law, the respondent in 
any protective order (ex parte or final) can be 
“enjoin[ed] from possessing or purchasing a 
firearm[.]” Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 42-924(1)(a)(vii), 
42-925 (West 2023).   
 

NEVADA  
 

 It is a crime in Nevada for the subject of an 
extended protective order to own a firearm. Nev. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. § 202.360(1)(d) (West 2023). However, the 
order must specifically prohibit the respondent from 
possessing a gun while the order is in effect. Id. at § 
33.0305(1).  The order may also require the 
respondent to “surrender, sell, or transfer any firearm 
in [his] possession or under [his] control.” Id. at § 
33.031(1); see id. at § 33.033.  
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NEW HAMPSHIRE 
 

 New Hampshire state law allows a judge to 
order the respondent of a temporary protective order 
to surrender any guns or deadly weapons in their 
possession while the order is in place. N.H. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. § 173-B:4(I)(a)(9) (West 2023). The judge may 
also prohibit the purchase of any guns while the order 
is in place and can, if there is reason to believe the 
respondent has not surrendered his guns, issue a 
search warrant. Id. at § 173-B:4(II). Further, if the 
court finds that the defendant “represents a credible 
threat to the safety of the plaintiff” and on “a showing 
of abuse . . . by a preponderance of the evidence,” the 
court can “direct the defendant to relinquish to the 
peace officer any and all firearms and ammunition in 
the control, ownership, or possession of the defendant, 
or any other person on behalf of the defendant for the 
duration of the protective order.” Id. at § 173-B:5(I). 
 

NEW JERSEY  
 

Under New Jersey state law, the trial court 
may prohibit the abuser from possessing a firearm, 
and it may also issue a search warrant for the seizure 
of “any firearm or other weapon at any location where 
the judge has reasonable cause to believe the weapon 
is located”; the abuser’s identification card or permit 
to purchase can also be seized. N.J. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 
2C:25-28(j). A final restraining order may, after a 
hearing, prohibit possessing firearms and acquiring 
or keeping a purchaser identification card, or permit 
to purchase, and require the surrender of any 
firearms or other weapons. Id. at § 2C:25-29(b). 
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NEW MEXICO  
 

 New Mexico state law makes it illegal for 
anyone subject to a final protective order to own a 
gun. N.M. Stat. Ann. § 30-7-16(A)(2) (West 2023). 
Additionally, if the court believes the defendant is a 
“credible threat,” he can be required to surrender his 
firearms to law enforcement or someone with a 
federal firearms license. Id. at § 40-13-5(A)(2).  
 

NEW YORK  
 

 For a temporary order, New York law requires 
the suspension of any license to carry and the surrender 
of any firearms if the court has good cause to believe the 
respondent (1) has a prior conviction for a violent felony, 
(2) has willfully violated a previous protective order and 
that violation involved the infliction of physical injury, 
the use or threatened use of a deadly weapon, or 
behavior constituting a violent felony, or (3) has a 
previous conviction for stalking. N.Y. Fam. Ct. Act § 
842-a(1)(a), (b) (McKinney 2023). For a final order, the 
respondent’s firearms must be surrendered if the judge 
finds a “substantial risk” that the respondent may use 
or threaten to use a gun against the plaintiff or someone 
else covered by the order or the judge believes the acts 
(which served as a basis for the order) caused the 
plaintiff serious physical injury, consisted of the use or 
threatened use of a deadly weapon, or would be 
considered a violent felony. Id. at § 842-a(2)(a), (b).   
 

NORTH CAROLINA 
 

 North Carolina requires the surrender of all 
firearms and any permit to carry a concealed weapon 
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if the court finds certain factors. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. 
§ 50B-3.1 (West 2023).  
 

NORTH DAKOTA  
 

 In North Dakota, if the judge believes that the 
abuser is likely to use, display, or threaten to use a 
firearm in future acts of violence, the order can 
require the surrender of any firearms. N.D. Cent. 
Code Ann. §§ 14-07.1-02(4)(g), 14-07.1-03(2)(d) (West 
2023).  
 

OHIO  
 

 While Ohio does not expressly mandate that a 
protective order may require the defendant not 
possess firearms, it does allow the court to “[g]rant 
other relief [it] considers equitable and fair[.]” Ohio 
Rev. Code Ann. § 3113.31(E)(1)(h) (West 2023). 
However, the forms for protective orders after either 
an ex parte hearing or a full hearing have a provision 
that orders the defendant (1) not to possess any 
deadly weapons and (2) to surrender any deadly 
weapons. https://supremecourt.ohio.gov/docs/JCS 
/domesticViolence/protection_forms/DVForms/10.01
H.pdf (ex parte hearing); https:// 
supremecourt.ohio.gov/docs/JCS/domesticViolence/pr
otection_forms/DVForms/10.01I.pdf (full hearing). 
 

OKLAHOMA 
 

 Oklahoma state law does not contain a specific 
provision requiring that a person subject to a 
protective order surrender his firearms. Okla. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 22, §§ 60.2, 60.3 (West 2023). However, the 
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forms for both an emergency order of protection and a 
final order of protection include such. https:// 
www.oscn.net/static/forms/aoc_forms/protectiveorder
s.asp. Also, if law enforcement believes that a weapon 
was used to commit an act of domestic violence, that 
weapon shall be seized. Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 60.8.  
 

OREGON 
 

 Under Oregon state law, if the restraining 
order (1) was issued after notice and an opportunity 
to be heard, (2) “[r]estrains the person from stalking, 
intimidating, molesting, or menacing a family or 
household member of the person, a child of the family 
or household member of the person or a child of the 
person,” and (3) includes a finding that the person is 
a “credible threat,” it is illegal for the defendant to 
possess a firearm. Or. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 166.255(1)(a) 
(West 2023). Further, a concealed handgun license 
will not be issued to, or can be revoked for, someone 
has been served with a citation to appear in civil court 
for a civil stalking protective order, is the subject of a 
civil stalking order, or is the subject of restraining 
order to prevent abuse. Id. at §§ 166.291(1)(m), 
166.293(3).    
 

PENNSYLVANIA 
 

 Under Pennsylvania law, a protective order 
may include a prohibition against possessing or 
acquiring any firearms for its duration; it may also 
order the defendant to relinquish any firearms in his 
possession to law enforcement. 23 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
Ann. § 6108(a)(7) (West 2023); see also id. at § 
6107(b)(3) (temporary order may require the 
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relinquishment of any firearms if the petition states 
certain facts).  
 

RHODE ISLAND  
 

 In Rhode Island, if the court issues a final 
protective order, that order may require the 
defendant to surrender any firearms in his possession 
and prohibit him from acquiring any more firearms. 
R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. §§ 8-8.1-3(a)(4), 15-15-3(a)(4) 
(West 2023); see also id. at § 11-47-5(b). Temporary 
orders do not have the same requirements; the court 
only has to enter orders “it deems necessary to protect 
the plaintiff from abuse.” Id. at § 8-8.1-4(a)(1).  
 

SOUTH CAROLINA  
 

 While nothing in South Carolina law says 
someone subject to a protective order cannot have a 
firearm, S.C. Code Ann. § 20-4-6 (West 2023), it is 
illegal to buy a firearm or ammunition if there is a 
valid order of protection in place. Id. at § 16-25-30(A) 
(requiring a hearing and specific findings).  
 

SOUTH DAKOTA  
 

 South Dakota does not specifically have a 
provision prohibiting anyone subject to a protective 
order from possessing a firearm, but the law does 
allow court to “[o]rder other relief as [it] deems 
necessary for the protection of the person to whom 
relief is being granted[.]” S.C. Codified Laws § 25-10-
5(6) (West 2023). And the defendant can be denied a 
permit to carry a concealed weapon if they have a 
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history of violence or are prohibited by federal law 
from possessing a firearm. Id. at § 23-7-7.1(4), (10).  
 

TENNESSEE  
 

 If a protective order is issued after a hearing 
that complies with 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8), Tennessee 
state law prohibits the possession of a firearm and 
requires the defendant to surrender their firearms. 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-3-625 (West 2023). A violation 
of the protective order is a crime. Id. at §§ 39-13-
113(a), 39-17-1307(f)(5). 
 

TEXAS  
 

 Texas law allows protective orders in cases of 
sexual assault or abuse, indecent assault, stalking or 
trafficking, and family violence. For the former, the 
court may prohibit the defendant from possessing a 
firearm; as well, the defendant’s license to carry may 
be suspended. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 
7B.005(a)(2)(D), (c) (West 2023). For the latter, gun 
possession may be prohibited, but the license to carry 
shall be suspended. Tex. Fam. Code § 85.022(b)(6), (d) 
(West 2023). Finally, if an emergency order of 
protection is issued, the defendant may be prohibited 
from possessing a firearm. Tex. Code Crim. Proc. art. 
17.292(c)(4).  

 
UTAH  

 
 In Utah, only if (1) the respondent has had 
notice and an opportunity to be heard and (2) the 
petition (a) established by a preponderance of the 
evidence that respondent has committed abuse or 
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dating violence against the petitioner and (b) 
established by clear and convincing evidence that the 
respondent’s possession of a firearm “poses a serious 
threat of harm” to the petitioner can a protective 
order prohibit the respondent from possessing 
firearm. Utah Code Ann. §§ 78B-7-404(5) (dating 
violence), 78B-7-504(5) (sexual violence), 78B-7-603(f) 
(cohabitant abuse) (West 2023); see also id. at § 76-10-
503(1)(b)(x).   
 

VERMONT  
 

 Under Vermont state law, a protective order 
may––if there is a finding that there is “an immediate 
danger of further abuse”––prohibit the defendant 
from possessing a firearm and require him to 
surrender any firearms in his possession for the 
duration of the order. Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 15, § 
1104(a)(1)(E) (West 2023) (temporary order); but see 
id. at § 1103(c)(1) (no such requirement even after a 
hearing; only whatever is “necessary to protect the 
plaintiff or the children or both” if the court makes 
certain findings).   
 

VIRGINIA  
 

 Virginia law only allows the court to grant 
“[a]ny other relief necessary to prevent (i) acts of 
violence, force, or threat, (ii) criminal offenses that 
may result in injury to person or property, or (iii) 
communication or other contact of any kind by the 
respondent.” Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-152.10(A)(3) (West 
2023). However, if there is an emergency or protective 
order in place due to family violence or an act of 
violence, force, or threat, it is illegal for the 
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respondent to buy a firearm. Id. at § 18.2-308.1:4(A). 
And the person is also ineligible for a concealed-carry 
permit and must surrender such if they already have 
one. Id. at 18.2-308.09(5).  

 
WASHINGTON  

 
 In Washington, if the judge finds that 
“irreparable injury could result,” the protective order 
can prohibit the respondent “from accessing, having 
in his or her custody or control, possessing, 
purchasing, attempting to purchase or receive, or 
receiving, all firearms, dangerous weapons, and any 
concealed pistol license[.]” Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §§ 
7.105.310(1)(m), 9.41.800(4) (West 2023). If an 
“extreme risk protection order” is issued, no such 
finding is required. Id. at § 7.105.340(1)(a). 
Washington also criminalizes possession of firearm if 
there is a protective order in place, issued after notice 
and an opportunity to be heard and certain findings 
have been made. Id. at § 9.41.040(2)(a)(iv) 
 

WEST VIRGINIA  
 

 West Virginia mandates that any protective 
order prohibit the respondent from possessing any 
firearms or ammunition. W. Va. Code Ann. § 48-27-
502(b) (West 2023). If the order (1) was issued after a 
hearing for which there was notice and opportunity to 
be heard (2) specifically “[r]estrains [the respondent] 
from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate 
partner. . ., and (3) includes a “credible threat” finding 
or “explicitly prohibits. . . physical force that would 
reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury,” the 
possession of a firearm is a crime. Id. at §61-7-7(a)(7).  
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WISCONSIN  
 

 A trial court granting a final domestic abuse 
injunction in Wisconsin must order the respondent to 
surrender any firearms to law enforcement and forbid 
the purchase of any firearms. Wis. Stat. Ann. § 
813.12(4m)(a)(2); see also id. at § 941.29(1m)(f), (g) 
(criminalizing possession if a protective order is in 
place).  

 
WYOMING 

 
 Wyoming state law does not specifically 
prohibit the possession of a firearm for someone 
subject to a protective order, but it does allow for 
“other injunctive relief as the court deems necessary 
for the protection of the petitioner.” Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 
35-21-105(a)(vi) (West 2023). However, the forms for 
both an ex parte order and a final order allow the 
court to order the respondent not to use or possess 
firearms. https://www.courts.state.wy.us/wp-content/ 
uploads/2019/07/DV-Ex-Parte-Order-of-Protection-
2019.pdf; https://www.courts.state.wy.us/wp-content/ 
uploads/2019/07/DV-Order-of-Protection-2019.pdf.  
  
 


